The Government aims at providing assistance to relevant institutions so as the principle of justice prevails, to protect and promote human rights and to re-engineer public sector bodies. In doing so, its vision is to ensure that justice prevails in our democratic society and is accessible to one and all, human rights are observed according to our Constitution and all institutions are governed in full transparency.
The Constitution
The Republic of Mauritius is a sovereign democratic state within the Commonwealth with a long tradition of parliamentary democracy.

The Constitution of Mauritius guarantees the fundamental rights of citizens and it establishes clearly the separation of powers between the legislative, the executive and the judiciary.

Know your rights
The Action Plan on Human Rights seeks to adjust the Government policies and programmes in order to create an appropriate human rights climate conducive for economic, social and cultural development in the country
The Judiciary
Location of Courts in Mauritius

Judicial System
Mauritius has a single-structured judicial system consisting of two tiers - the Supreme Court and subordinate courts. The Supreme Court sitting as Court of First Instance is composed of various Divisions exercising jurisdiction such as the Master’s Court, the Family Division, the Commercial Division, the Criminal Division, the Mediation Division and as an Appellate jurisdiction (it hears and determines civil & criminal appeals from decisions of the subordinate courts), sits as Court of Civil Appeal and the Court of Criminal Appeal (to hear and determine appeals from decisions of the Supreme Court sitting in the exercise of its original jurisdiction in civil and in criminal matters). Subordinate courts consist of the Intermediate Court, the Industrial Court, the District Courts, the Bail and Remand Court and the Court of Rodrigues.

1. The Supreme Court​

​​1.1 ​Civil Jurisdiction of the Supreme Court as Court of first instance

1.1.1 The Family Division of the Supreme Court

1.1.2 The Commercial Division of the Supreme Court

1.1.3 Master's Court

1.1.4 The Mediation Division

1.2 The Criminal Division of the Supreme Court (Assizes)

1.3 Appellate jurisdiction of the Supreme Court

1.4 Court of Civil Appeal

1.5 Court of Criminal Appeal 

2. The Judicial Committee Of The Privy Council

​3. Subordinate Courts

3.1 Intermediate Court

a) Civil Jurisdiction of the Intermediate Court

b) Criminal Jurisdiction

3.2 Industrial Court

3.3 District Courts

a) Civil Jurisdiction of the District Court

b) Jurisdiction under the Protection from Domestic Violence Act 1997

c) Small Claims Procedure

d) Criminal Jurisdiction

e) Juvenile Court

f) Court of Rodrigues

g) Other smaller islands forming part of the Republic of Mauritius

 3.4 Bail and Remand Court ​​

The Judiciary has, since April 2010, embarked on the development and implementation of an electronic filing of cases and an electronic case management system. The programme has materialized with the help of Investment Climate Facility for Africa (ICF) which provided a grant of 75% of the project costs, the balance being funded by the Government of Mauritius.