• Home
  • Information and Services
  • Education and Training
The National Curriculum Framework (NCF) 2015: Nine-Year Continuous Basic Education, and its accompanying document, the NCF Grades 1 to 6, charting out what has to be taught and learnt, and when and how this should be done so as to cater to the needs for the holistic development of all learners, were launched yesterday afternoon at the Mahatma Gandhi Institute, in Moka.
The aim is to provide an education that endows all children with an equitable chance to have solid foundations on which to build high-quality upper secondary education and to acquire 21st century competencies.
‘These documents are pivotal for the implementation of the nine years of continuous basic education process that we are all collectively engaged in.  The new curriculum, which is both balanced and comprehensive, is meant to consolidate the foundation on which children can build their further learning,’ said the Ministry of Education, Tertiary Education, Science and Technology, Mrs Leela Devi Dookun-Luchoomun, in her address at the launching ceremony.
For the Minister, emphasis is placed not only on acquisition of knowledge but also on developmental skills and attitudes.  The NCF stresses a value-based education through the introduction of new learning areas such as intercultural education, life skills and values and this will help to determine the kind of society we want to see evolving, she pointed out.
As regards the Nine-Year Continuous Basic Education, Mrs Dookun-Luchoomun, observed that it is inclusive and will eliminate the narrow compartmentalisation that has been encouraged for decades. This reform brings in fundamental change in the education structure, she stated.
The Minister also appealed to all heads of schools to engage actively in the reform process as it will open up opportunities for all children.  It is true that we have to move forward in a progressive manner but we will certainly meet our goals if we walk together in the same direction, she added.
National Curriculum Framework
The NCF 2015 articulates the policy and the philosophy for an education system that serves the needs of the Republic of Mauritius and empowers its learners to become functional in the world of tomorrow.
The document has been elaborated after discussions and consultations with stakeholders, especially practising stakeholders, who are both conscious of the grassroots reality and keen on overcoming any disconnect between theory and practice.  The NCF 2015 seeks to set a standard that has international currency, while ensuring that the education system is well-equipped to provide young people with increased opportunity for employability.
Government’s education reform project
It is recalled that Government’s reform project for Mauritius’ learning sector - the Nine-Year Continuous Basic Education – which has as objective to promote the holistic development of all students was presented on 20 August 2015 by the Ministry of Education, Tertiary Education, Science and Technology.
The aim is to offer a comprehensive basic education cycle that provides students with the foundational skills for success in all further learning leading to an empowered 2030 citizenry.
The objectives are to provide equitable Learning for All opportunities for students to attain high levels of achievement, and inculcate in young people a sense of moral responsibility, patriotism and set of values.
The Project
The Education structure comprise of 13 grades as follows:
Level of Education
School Setting
  • Grades 1-6
Basic Education (Primary)
Primary Schools
  • Grades 7-9
Basic Education (Lower Secondary)
Regional Secondary Schools
  • Grades 10-11
Upper Secondary
Regional Secondary Schools / Academies
  • Grades 12-13
Upper Secondary
Regional Secondary Schools / Academies / Polytechnics
The core of the reform is the replacement of the Certificate of Primary Education (CPE) by the Primary School Achievement Certificate at the end of Grade 6 as from 2017 onwards; the introduction of a National Certificate of Education as from 2020 onwards; and the setting up of Academies which will run classes from Grades 10 to 13 and specialise in certain streams/subjects, and of Polytechnics.